Klose Has Been Selected To Receive The 2023 UEFA President's Award

The former German and Lazio star, Miroslav Klose, will receive the 2023 UEFA President's Award.

As announced by the official profiles of UEFA, Miroslav Klose will receive the 2023 presidency of UEFA award. The ceremony is scheduled for August 31st, and the awards ceremony will also take place on that date.

Last year, the award was won by the Italian Arrigo Sacchi and recognized for his sportsmanship, excellence in professionalism, and personal attributes. Everything the former German player has represented over the years, as documented by UEFA itself in a statement:

"World champion in Brazil 2014 and top scorer of the tournament, he is a great example of fair play, he documented two instances in which he refused to take advantage of the referee's errors."

Since its inception in 1998, the UEFA President's Award has been dedicated to some of the most celebrated athletes in the sport. Past winners include celebrated players like Johan Cruyff, Sir Bobby Charlton, and Alfredo Di Stefano. 

Notably, Simon Kjaer and the Copenhagen EURO 2020 medical team earned the award in 2021 for their efforts in resuscitating Danish footballer Christian Eriksen after he suffered an on-field heart attack. Kjaer is the only individual to have won the award while still playing professional football.

No comments:

Theme images by merrymoonmary. Powered by Blogger.